My Neck….My Back…

I woke up in complete and utter pain. A few minutes of fighting through the haze of aching bones and screaming muscles cleared my head long enough for me to think “What the hell happened”?

It took me about 30 minutes to maneuver myself off my bed because I seriously hurt that badly. I finally made it over to the lit vanity mirror in my hotel room and an in-depth inspection of my body began. So far, I see large and small bruises on my right butt cheek, both knees, along my shins, the tops of my feet, across my ribs and along my forearms. If the pain is any indication, I know I’ll have more lovely purple flowers sprouting on my skin over the next few days.

My arms are sore. It takes me about 15 minutes to try to put on my bra because I can’t reach. My arms refuse to bend that way. It’s not because I’m not trying. No no no. They seriously won’t bend.

I also can’t pull my pants on. Again, this is because my arms have decided to stage a protest and refuse to let me get dressed. This wouldn’t be a problem if I like going commando while wearing dresses (I have no problem pulling things over my head) but seeing as how I prefer not to flash people or get arrested for indecent exposure, I’ll deal with the pain…and the 30 minutes needed to attempt to dress myself.

My legs, I’m happy to report, are perfectly fine. They’re just slightly sore but nothing a little light stretching won’t take care of. I have strong legs. Thank God.

So what was the cause of the pain and bruises? No, it wasn’t some crazy romping between the sheets. What kind of girl do you think I am? Don’t answer that. It was a rhetorical question.

I went surfing.

Having never been surfing and spending some of my most important years growing up in Hawaii, it was always a source of embarrassment to admit I don’t know how to surf. Well, that and I could give Casper The Friendly Ghost a run for his money in comparing who’s the fairest of them all in terms of paleness.

Therefore, this time around, I decided I was going to learn. The question then became “how”?


Ranked by TripAdvisor as #59 out of 198 in terms of attractions and things to do.
w00t!

Wandering around Waikiki, I was approached by a group of locals in super bright yellow tank tops. Turns out they’re from Star Beach Boys, a local company that teaches n00bs (that’s “newbie” or “completely clueless beginner” for you people who don’t know what a n00b is) how to surf.

A quick run down of Star Beach Boys ::

Guaranteed to stand up or your money back.

HELL YEAAAHH!!! Dude, they are sooo gonna work for their money because I’ve no clue about the first thing of surfing.

Experienced, Professional and Licensed

Okay, sounds good to me. I just want to say I surfed in Hawaii.

After Lesson, Board Rental Is $5 On The Same Day

Again, sounds good to me.

If you’re looking for them, they’re the supersonic yellow umbrellas in front of Waikiki Circle Hotel on the beach. Do me a favor and ask for Big Mike. He was the brave soul who taught my clueless ass how to surf.

And so we began.

Part Two of this story begins after I have some coffee. πŸ˜€

Comments
2 Responses to “My Neck….My Back…”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Grab Me, Spank Me, Pull My Hair. Posted in Uncategorized by missbonnified on November 6, 2009 In case you missed Part One of my odyssey into surfing, read this first. […]

  2. […] Is Mine!! Posted in Uncategorized by missbonnified on November 6, 2009 Part One and in case you didn’t read […]



Leave a Reply

