The Dirty Thirty :: Part Two

Part One was about what the Drama Freaks had to say about turning 30. This part is about what the Party People and I think about hitting the dirtay Thirties.

I don’t see the problem with turning 30. I really don’t. Yeah, it’s going to be weird not telling people I’m Twenty-something anymore but so what? In 10 years, it’s going to feel weird not telling people I’m Thirty-Something. So what?

Does anyone remember that old Aaliyah song? “Age Ain’t Nuthin But A Number”? Exactly.

I feel like I’m a lot smarter now than I was 10 years ago. Granted, I was a little crazy 10 years ago but that’s neither here nor there.

I know my body a lot better than I did 10 years ago. I respect it a lot more and I know that I’m not invincible like how I thought I was when I was younger.

I still like going out with my friends but my bank account is a LOT better than it was when I was 20 and my shoes are a lot better too.

I’ve always been mature for my age. I attribute this to being forced to grow up at a very young age. But you know what I noticed? I’ve learned to relax.

When I was in my early to mid 20’s, I walked around like I had a stick up my ass. In fact, one of my sister’s friends gave me a nickname. He called me “Uptight LA” because I really was. I just didn’t know it at the time. I guess getting offended and going up in his face probably didn’t help my case much….

What’s weird is that I started to mellow out in my late 20’s. I learned not to take everything and everyone so seriously. I stopped listening to what everyone else had to say and I started listening more to myself.

Wow, this post is getting kind of emo….but that’s fine because it’s my first day after my 30th birthday and I’ll do whatever I want.

I know what my 20’s did for me. Despite everything that’s happened to me, I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I’m looking forward to seeing what my 30’s hold.

Happy Birthday to me.

Leave a Reply

