Music And Me

I can’t live without the following things :

Family

Family is what you make of it. I got lucky. I actually LOVE mine. That’s because we’re crazier than a bunch of rabid squirrels in a peanut butter factory. All 8 of us “kids” on my dad’s side are straight up retarded. We make fun of each other and everything under the sun. There’s not a whole lot that we hold sacred enough NOT to poke fun at but that’s just the way we are. We find humor and joy in everything. And we eat. A lot. I think the amount we eat and drink in a year can probably support a small nation for a decade or so. Craziness.

Yup. My family tree is full of nuts and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

This leads to the next category.

Friends

I don’t think know I wouldn’t be where I am without my friends. The support of my family, in case you didn’t catch Point Numero Uno up there, is a given. They’re stuck with me and me with them. Blood is thicker than water and all that happy stuff.

But my friends…these are people who DECIDED OF THEIR OWN FREE WILL to want to hang out with me. That makes me very lucky and very blessed. Warm and happy feelings for all!

Good Food, Good Drinks, Good Books

I lump these three together because they’re all edible in some way. Allow me to explain.

Some people eat to live. I live to eat. In case you don’t follow my current obsession with Twittering everything I see or do, I have an imaginary tapeworm. His name is Barney The Tapeworm. I ❀ him. He doesn't always like me very much. We'll get into that another day.

Drinks are a must! I'm not always referring to the fermented variety although, if you really must know, I am a scotch girl. I love it neat. If I must have water with my caramel colored liquid happiness, I like it on the side with lots of ice. My current favorite is Macallan. I also really Really REALLY like Glenrothes 1985. Very VERY yummy.

Why I added books? Because the rate I go through books, I might as well be eating them. My childhood nickname was "Bookworm". Oh, the horror….but again, that's another story for another day.

That's because I want to talk about my next love.

MUSIC!!

Omg. I can’t live without it. There’s always music playing wherever I go. I swear my iPod is surgically attached to my hip. I don’t care if I’m in the shower, in the car, walking to/from the car and wherever the hell it is I’m going or if I’m sleeping. Music must always be playing.

A good friend who is also a Dj taught me how to spin when I was 17. That was a lot of fun. I’d love to pick it up again one day when I have the time, the space and the extra cash to burn because vinyl is NOT cheap and I’m a music fiend.

A beat I really like is Phil Collins’s “In The Air Tonight”. There’s something I find so appealing about the way that song sounds. I’ve no idea why but apparently I’m not the only person who thinks so. Here’s a quick list of what’s been done with it that has met with my approval :

I first heard this …hm….was it last year? Two years ago? I forgot but I was in Honolulu with the ex-boyfriend as a last minute date for his sister’s wedding. Good thing I know the family and we’re still friends! Otherwise that would be kind of awkward. Haa haa haa! We were at some dive bar in Waikiki (….Red Lion? I’m pretty sure it was. I kind of forgot) but I remember hearing this song and I LOVED IT! The lyrics are kind of f*cked up but hey. Most of the songs playing today are rather messed up if you really pay attention.

I ❀ Tupac. End of story. This remix is so f*cking hot. I ❀ it. I can listen to it on endless repeat and not get sick of it. The stories he tells sometimes aren't exactly stories for me. Maybe that's why I love his songs. Starin' at the world through my rearview…

Watch how the reactions of these people change. They’re feeling it too. w00t! And on that happy note, good night! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

