Open Wide

I love my dentist.

What? What’d you think this post was gonna be about when you saw the title? Wait, don’t answer that… * ahem * Movin’ on, mooovin’ on.

Weird thing to blog about since :

A. It’s so random
B. Most people hate theirs

I’m currently waiting for my grandma to be done w/ her appointment (I get to be chauffer today. It’s all good. She’s my grandma) and I started to crack up.

When I was little, I had cavities up the wazoo. I loved sugar in all its tooth rotting manifestations and never got enough of it. Luckily, I was a mellow child who only went into supersonic sugar high overdrive once in a while. Unfortunately, my teeth paid the ultimate price.

This meant my mom more or less dragged me kicking and screaming into pretty much every pediatric dentist in our neighborhood and the surrounding ones. The relationship was always short lived.

Why?

Because I bit them. Sometimes I drew blood. Wow, I’m surprised I never got super busted. My mom always justified it by yelling at them “My angel never would’ve bit you if you didn’t hurt her! You can count on us never coming back here AGAIN!!” Meanwhile, he’s the one with the bandaid on his finger and I’m baring my teeth at him in a big grin.

Yeah…you don’t wanna mess with my mom…

I know, I know. It wasn’t nice of me, I’m not Hannibel Lecter, blah blah blah. Look. I wouldn’t have chomped down if they took those instruments of doom out of my mouth so that I could tell them it hurt!!

God. Seriously.

So my current dentist was more or less one of the last ones my mom had left to try. She was sweating bullets, I was wondering how meaty his finger would be when I introduced him to my milk teeth. Just kidding. I wasn’t thinking that. I was hoping he had really good stickers.

I was scared initially but that was a fleeting emotion because I loved him the moment I met him. He was so nice and the most gentle dentist I’ve ever met. To this day, I’ve never bit him and he’s been my dentist since I was 4 or 5.

We used to go over to his house to play with his sons and hed always ask my mom if we could spend the weekend because he adored us. He so rocks.

At one point, his son was my dentist. That was weird because we have history. Another story for another day.

You know, even though he doesn’t give me stickers or sugar free candy any more, I still think he’s the best dentist ever. I’ll never bite him…but what am I gonna do when he retires??!!

That’s a scary thought not for me but for all the dentists out there. Ahahahaha!! Jk.

Omg. What if I have kids and they’re exactly like me?! Good God…THAT’S a scary thought because I hear Karma’s a beeyotch.

Uh oh.

Sent on the Sprint® Now Network from my BlackBerry®

Comments
2 Responses to “Open Wide”
  1. lily says:

    is this dentist who i think it is??? dr szu?!

Leave a Reply

