Weird Highlight Of My Day

So I was in the PALS class like I mentioned earlier and it was depressing as hell. You see footage of kids in severe distress and you have to wonder why people aren’t doing anything about it besides obtaining footage. To say it’s disturbing is to put it mildly.

BUUUUUT then came the fun part of my day! It’s within my scope of practice to shove in what’s known as an intraosseous needle when I have no other way of obtaining vascular access. The old school way was to jam this HONKING screw looking thing at a 90 degree angle into certain parts of certain bones in your leg. Then you’re supposed to “screw it in with a twisting motion until you feel a POP sensation”.

I’ll know I did it right when the damn thing can stand up on it’s own.

Pretty freaking nuts…until I learned today that there’s this thing called the EZ-IO drill.

That’s right. Ya heard. A friggin’ DRILL. I now possess the skills to drill fat needles into people’s legs in order to save their life. Hooooly good God, my job is never boring.

Dude, I’ll be like some crazy cross between the Tool Time Girl and Tim from “Home Improvement”….except I’ll be wearing scrubs.

In case you have no idea what I’m talking about, here’s a clip of someone getting an IO placed with the EZ-IO drill.

I can’t believe :

1. How calm this guy is
2. The fact that this crazy mofo is awake

p.s. Don’t watch this if you’re squeamish. You have been warned. It’s a little weird and disturbing if you’re not used to seeing stuff like this.

p.p.s. Do not try anything remotely similar to this at home.

Comments
2 Responses to “Weird Highlight Of My Day”
  1. lily says:

    but why – oh WHY – through the kneecap?!?! *OUCH*

    • Miss Bonnified says:

      it’s actually a little below the knee. it’s on the flat part of the bone that’s directly below the joint. you can actually feel the correct location if you pick any leg and press down on the bone right below your kneecap but towards the part that’s medial.

      …it makes more sense if it’s shown to you. x)

Leave a Reply

