Soon To Be Virgin No More

I’ve never done a marathon before in my life…that is, unless you count hours spent sprawled on my couch watching "Lost", "True Blood", "Glee", "Hellsing", "Claymore" or other anime / Asian Dramas. Those are like marathons too….except the most physically taxing things I did during those hours include lifting the remote and speed dialing Pizza Hut.

Clyde has been a great inspiration. He turned his health around with P90X and finished the LA marathon. I am so proud of him. I can honestly say he’s a huge influence on why I’ve decided to do the unthinkable.

I’ve registered for my first ever marathon – The Disneyland Half Marathon. Yup. That’s right. My marathon cherry is gonna be popped at the Happiest Place On Earth. Not bad.

So here’s the thing. I haven’t earnestly ran since my senior year in high school. I started off dead last in my Cross Training class and somehow ended up in the front of the class. My final mile time was insane. I couldn’t believe it. I had beaten out everyone in my class. Nice.

That was also 15 years ago. The most running I do now is down the hall of the ICU during a Code Blue. That’s pretty sad.

However, after forking over $120 for this thing and all the money I’m gonna be throwing in for new running shoes, socks. blah blah blah, I better take this seriously.

….omfg….what did I just do???!!!


This is gonna be me….except I’m a girl…
I also wouldn’t be wearing orange running shoes. Yuck.

I’m strangely scared shitless and yet….it’s so exciting. You can bet one of the songs I’ll be huffing and puffing to on Marathon Day will be Madonna’s "Like A Virgin".

Clyde says this race is walking friendly. He’s even hoping I’d wear the blinged out mouse ears he bought me on our first Disneyland trip while running. Depending on how well my training goes, I’ll think about it.

Leave a Reply

