What Happens When You Mix My Chinese Family With My Korean Boyfriend

So BigAuntie had a BBQ at her place yesterday and told me to bring Clyde. My dad’s side is Chinese but they’re all obsessed with watching Korean dramas. Actually….my Japanese side is also obsessed with Korean dramas. My Japanese grandma has freaking POSTERS of the Korean drama boys posted on the walls in her home. Jeezus….


I loooooved this drama!! Coffee Prince cracked me up. So funny!!


I crack up every time I see “100 Days With Mr. Arrogant”. Oh man….

Anyway, so BigAuntie and LittleAuntie have been watching the dramas. They are so proud of what they learned to say in Korean so they’ll corner Clyde every time they see him to yell some more random Korean words at him. Then they forget he’s Korean and start speaking Chinglish at him. Luckily, Clyde’s a smart man and can piece together what they’re saying.

Once they remember he’s Korean and not Chinese, they start reminding each other in Chinese to speak English to him. Meanwhile, I’m dying laughing as I’m translating for Clyde. Good thing he has an awesome sense of humor and is so easy going. πŸ™‚

So this is what they know how to say :

1. Hello

Anyong-haseyo μ•ˆλ…•ν•˜μ„Έμš” is something they now know how to say…..except this is how they remember to say it :

Onion-Hah-For-Sale-oh!

I’m not kidding. They tried so hard to remember how to say “hello, how are you” and that’s the only way they would remember. I was about to die laughing. Clyde looked slightly puzzled and amused.

2. BigAuntie Is The Feisty One

Up next on the list of things they learned to say so that they could talk to my boyfriend is how to say “ATTACK!!!”

Yup. I’m not quite sure why she remembered to say that, what she was watching where that word was featured enough for her to even remember or why she decided she needed to know that but she proudly told Clyde the new Korean word she learned. She was so proud, she kept saying it over and over again.

This was funnier when she had a paring knife in her hand as she made orange zest for the cocktails.

3. Love Conquers All

LittleAuntie is the sweet one. She shyly pulls on my elbow and whispered “I also know a new word! Want to hear it?” Of course I said “Yes” but I was a little nervous by now.

She smiled and said “I know how to say ‘yobo’ !!”

Aaaaww….and then she told me to call Clyde that because, from what she’s seen on the dramas, Korean men really like that. She’s so cute.

4. SHOTS! SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS!

I can honestly say I’ve never been more afraid of my aunties and their friends up until last night. We were making shots in the kitchen per usual but we weren’t prepared for what would happen when our moms and their friends let the liquor get to their heads. Next thing I know, our moms are screaming the chorus to the “Shots” song in the kitchen while shaking their empty cups and demanding more. I thought we were going to have a stampede in the kitchen.

Oooooh…..my…..God…….we cut them off after that. I asked Clyde if he had fun and he was like “Yeah!”

Nice! Good times!

Comments
16 Responses to “What Happens When You Mix My Chinese Family With My Korean Boyfriend”
  1. Miss Bonnified says:

    Thank you for reading. In response to your comment, I’m going to point out that Koreans and Chinese people share a lot of similarities within language, customs, culture and aspects of the same writing system. Therefore, I would have to disagree with you.

    • Miss Bonnified says:

      Fact or Fiction – Koreans can utilize a counting system based upon Chinese.
      Fact or Fiction – the word for “Princess” and “tea”, just to name a few, are derived from Chinese.

      Again, I’m not saying the two cultures are identical. I’m saying there are similarities. The key word is “similarities”. Is this or is this not true?

  2. Emjay says:

    Eh…Koreans and Koreans don’t mix. I can’t even begin how many times I’ve wanted to punch my own kind in the face.

    • Miss Bonnified says:

      There’s always a village idiot in every village, you know? I figure they’re the teachers of the great lessons known as Patience, Tolerance and Acceptance so that my ass won’t go to prison for committing battery and assault. That would suck donkey balls.

      • Miss Bonnified says:

        Why are you assuming I’m Okinawan? And why are you stating that Okinawans are stupid? Also, why should I consider myself lucky that you jump me?

        You are making a lot of assumptions, one of the being that 99.9% of Koreans would probably cause me bodily injury. Seeing that a lot of my friends are Korean in addition to marrying one, I’d have to disagree with you.

    • Emjay says:

      You really like coffee, aye? Why don’t you drink some yourself and learn to write some decent English? And while you’re at it, punch yourself in the face for…no…not being Korean, but for being a jackass. Sorry I’m late in the reply. I was out having a life.

      • Miss Bonnified says:

        Having a life is great. I’m glad you were out doing something with your life besides engaging in this….whatever this is. Please do not encourage further bad behavior by insinuating they do something physically harmful. It only seems to add fuel to the fire, you know what I mean? πŸ™‚

      • Miss Bonnified says:

        To be fair, please refrain from stating desire for them to cause themselves physical harm. I see nothing wrong with having discussions over differing points of view but threats are not tolerated on my blog.

        In the spirit of fairness, I can’t just say that to them and not say the same to you, you know? Please understand. I would appreciate it greatly if you wouldn’t say things along those lines. Thank you.

    • Miss Bonnified says:

      Like I said to emjay, please refrain from stating desire to cause physical harm to others. I do not take this lightly nor do I appreciate it on my blog. Having disagreements and not seeing eye to eye on various points are one thing but to state you want to cause someone physical harm is something entirely unacceptable. You have threatened to punch someone twice and you, as kpeninsula, have also threatened to cause myself bodily harm on more than one occasion. I’m telling you to stop. Thank you.

  3. Dennis Hong says:

    They don’t mix. They match.

    Badam… ching.

  4. Miss Bonnified says:

    Thank you for your comment. First of all, I grew up in Hawaii. Please tell the entire population there that mixing of cultures does not work because love does not conquer all. While you’re at it, please go tell all the couples of mixed race (African American + Caucasian, Mexican American + African American, etc) that love does not conquer all. When you’re done, I’d love to hear how you fared in your endeavors.

    As for 3/4 of my culture and his Korean culture being very very different, I never said they were carbon copies. I simply pointed out the undeniable fact that Chinese, Japanese AND Korean cultures share many similarities.

  5. Miss Bonnified says:

    You have the percentage of my heritage wrong. This is my blog. I can state whatever I want and I’m not saying anything slanderous, untrue or hurtful. You don’t have to read it if you don’t want to.

    I also never said Koreans, Chinese and Japanese are the same. I said there are similarities. That does not mean “the same”.

    • Miss Bonnified says:

      The fact that I’m APPROVING your comments to be seen on a blog means I also believe people have freedom of speech. This also means I have no intention of canceling my blog. And no, I don’t think you’re right.

      I never posted this particular content thinking I will be getting only positive comments as you and Kpeninsula (who I’m beginning to think is also you) have proved. The entire purpose of this post was to showcase how different cultures can get along. There will always be people who will disagree (such as yourself) and that’s fine too. You can think what you want. I will think what I want.

      I can’t exactly figure out what you’re saying at the end so I’m just going to say the same thing yet again. I never said Chinese, Japanese and Korean cultures are the same. I said they share aspects (you said in another comment that Koreans adopted Chinese language and vocabulary so you can’t dispute this) but I never said they are the same. Never.

  6. askkorean1 says:

    Koreans didn’t adopt Chinese language. Koreans adopted character, vocabulary such as English adopted Greek, Latin, French, German ( Law, Engineer, Physics, Medical). It does not mean Koreans and Chinese are related. It does not mean English is related to French, German, Latin, Greek.

    Fine as long you agree. Koreans, Chinese, Japanese are different. Koreans are not Chinese-Japanese mix. As long you understand my point. This discussion is over.

Leave a Reply

