See Bonnie. See Bonnie Run.

Lance-A-Lot, this is for you.

So in a previous post, I talked about how I registered and completed a 10k for the first time in my life.

Lance asked a few questions which I will address now.

1. Running Machine

I should point out first and foremost that I don’t run consecutive miles. Hell to the N-O! Are you kidding me?! I’d die!!

So here’s what I do.

There’s an awesome dude by the name of Jeff Galloway who also just so happens to be an Olympian. He has a bunch of books out that detail how to train for half and full marathons. Clyde bought me his half marathon book. I love it.

I worship this guy because he advocates a walk-run program. For example, when I first started “running”, I ran 30 seconds, walked 30 seconds, ran 30 seconds, walked 30 seconds, etc.

Gradually over time, I worked my way up to 1 minute run, 1 minute walk. From there, I increased my intervals to 2/1. I’m currently at 6/3.

You have to understand where I came from. I haven’t ran since senior year in high school and that was over 10 years ago! To come this far is a miracle to me and if I can do it, I know anyone can.

This was how I was able to hit 6 miles in 3 weeks. The first time I went running, I did about 4 miles in an hour. I averaged about 15.30 minute miles following the 30 second run / 30 second walk intervals. To be completely honest, I was surprised when the hour was over and I didn’t want to stop. Crazy, huh?

According to my 10k time, I’m clocking a 13.30 minute mile. πŸ˜€

2. Take It Easy

Yeah, they call it a “race” sometimes but honestly? You’re not in a race with anyone else besides yourself. When I train solo, I’m aiming for a time I’d like to finish by. I can currently run 2.45 miles in 35 minutes of which 5 minutes is initally spent walking at a semi brisk pace for a warm up.

I was supposed to do a 8 mile run this week but I think I pulled something during my last short run a few days ago. Therefore, I’m resting my legs for the rest of the week. I’m wearing compression sleeves that Clyde bought me (F*CKING MOST AWESOME THINGS E-V-A-R!!!) and not doing anything besides walking for errands and work.

Diet Is The Key

I see you mentioned that you wanted to start running again to get into shape, Lance. First of all, as a Registered Nurse, let me say that I am so proud of you!! Diet and exercise go really far in preventing the Unholy Trinity – Diabetes, Hypertension and high Cholesterol.

Before you start on some crazy exercise thing, please do me a favor and talk it over with your primary doctor. I highly doubt he’s gonna tell you not to do anything but I say this in case you have some health issues I’m clueless about.

I took nutrition as part of my nursing school prereqs and I remember learning that diet is the greatest contributing factor to weight loss whereas exercise doesn’t really factor in. Don’t get me wrong!!! You need exercise to develop muscle mass and improve cardiovascular health. Diet is what will help you melt all the layers of fat to reveal the awesome muscle tone you’re developing with the running/working out and those muscles are what will help you burn more calories even when you’re at a rest state. In other words, you need both to get in shape.

When I was “rewarding” myself after long runs with pizza and Shin Ramen late at night (omg….sodium laden bloaty HEAVEN….), I wasn’t doing my waistline any favors. Now that I’ve cut it mostly out of my diet, I can see better definition in my muscles and my abdominal region is flatter. So score!

You’ll also want to make sure you have recovery foods readily available after working out. Chocolate milk is really good. It has the optimal ration of fats/protein/carbs to help you recover. I’m currently drinking this choco whey protein shake with skim milk after running.

3. Don’t Forget About Your Core!

Having a strong core doesn’t just let you look super sexy in the summer with your shirt off. It also helps with running better and safer.

I like personally take Pilates to help me kick my core into shape. I think it’s because I like the pain and my instructor’s cheery Japanese voice kicking my ass into gear.

Hope this helps, Lance! Oh yeah. If you smoke, that won’t help with the lungs wanting to die when running. I know because I’m a smoker. * hangs head in shame * I’m down to….maybe 6 a week? That averages out to less than one a day. My goal is completely quit. I’d like to think I’m well on my way. πŸ™‚

Good luck and let me know how you’re doing!

Comments
5 Responses to “See Bonnie. See Bonnie Run.”
  1. Lance says:

    Thanks much for the post! (I was surprised to see my name up there for all the interwebs to see!)

    You mentioned a type of interval training which I’m glad to know has worked for you. It makes me feel a lot better to know someone has had good results from it when basically starting “from scratch”. I will definitely start slow and go for time as opposed to distance. 1 minute … all the way up to 30 minutes. I don’t think I’m being too ambitious. =)

    I’m doing it mostly for the aerobic benefits as long-distance running is going to put high-impact strain on my already worn out knees and ankles that I already get from years of vball. =) I should be okay for exercise since my blood pressure, cholesterol, and blood sugar numbers are just a hair past middle of the road and nowhere near being outside of the “normal” range. But, you’re right, I can no longer consume anything I want … age is creeping up on me. =(

    I hear you on the smoking. It’s so great that you’re down so much. I’ve cut my smoking in half (and it’s still not easy, even after doing it for about 6 months) but that’s still 10 smokes a day. =(

    Hope you heal soon and get back to your regimen! Looks like I’ll be joinging the ranks of the Ala Moana joggers soon!

    • Miss Bonnified says:

      Ack!! I’ll take your last name. Sorry!!

      Interval training works out GREAT for me because I’m not a runner anymore. I’m more of an enthusiastic walker when I have to be. x) And I don’t think you’re being too ambitious! Dude, if I can work myself up to 5 minutes jogging, I see no reason why you can’t set a goal of 30 minutes. Why not? πŸ™‚

      Smoking is hard to quit….but, Lance, we can do it. πŸ™‚ I have faith in us! I, for sure, want to quit.

      I’m so happy to hear you’re taking a proactive approach to your health. Cheers to that!! πŸ˜€

      • Lance says:

        See, I’ve already started on my diet… oh wait, carbo loading is only supposed to be before doing a long run? aiyah. >=)

        Honestly, I don’t WANT to quit smoking. I SHOULD quit, but my body knows the difference between “should” and “want” I guess. So for now I’m trying to not need it so much… kind of like needing a hole in the head.

  2. lily says:

    i agree with the walk/run method. back when i first took track and field this girl told me that’s how she always “trained”. run a lap, walk a lap. run 2 laps, walk 2 laps, etc. and so that’s how i did it and before i knew it i ran a pretty decent mile without breaking a sweat! course then i got the flu and all that went out the window. =(

    • Miss Bonnified says:

      Giiirrrlll….that’s totally me!! πŸ˜€

      Sorry to hear the flu set you back…that sucks big time….but you can always start again! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

