Disney Half Marathon

So this is it. Months of preparation, crazy early morning runs and repeated scares of a possible blackened / falling off toenail has come down to this.

It’s race day tomorrow.

I was worried the past few days because I was battling back a cold. Thanks to vitamin C bombs, Zinc (and consequently throwing it all up half an hour later) and Clyde dropping off Orange juice, I’ve made a full recovery!

I’m chalking it up to the magic of Disney.

I also picked up a few goodies at the expo (read : Last Minute Super Shopping For Stuff I Didn’t Know I Needed Until Now) and I can’t wait to use them!!

I got a new run shirt in some super sonic insane pink and these awesome ear bud things for my iPod.

I can’t wait.

Oh, you know what else is funny that I learned? So you have to run a 16 minute mile or what I like to call “The short yellow loser bus” will come to pick your ass up.

I learned this afternoon that if you’re lagging at mile 10, Disney will launch a bunch of people equipped with MEGAPHONES WHILE RIDING BIKES to “encourage” your ass the last 3.1 miles.

I can hear it now :

Disney “cheerleader” : HURRY YOUR ASS UP, PUNK!

Tired Runner : I’m trying….

Disney “Cheerleader” : I SAID HURRY YOUR ASS UP, FOOL!! DO YOU WANT TO RIDE THE SHORT YELLOW LOSER BUS???!!! HUH???!! DO YOU????!!!

Tired Runner : ….no…. * sob * sob *

I told Clyde about my imagined conversation between Bully Cheerleader With Bull Horn And Bike and slower runners. He just shook his head and laughed.

I think I amuse him. πŸ™‚

So excited!!! Oh yeah. He scored us a Presidential Suite for the weekend. Talk about an awesome introduction into the wondrous world of marathon running.

Leave a Reply

