Adventures In Wedding Planning : Meet Me At The Alter

In many ways, I’m pretty traditional. I love it when Clyde opens the door for me (we’ve been together for over a year and he STILL does this. Makes my heart sing every single time), when he carries packages for me (gives me an excuse to watch his muscles flex. Ahahaha) and other stuff. I like to make dinner and watch him enjoy what I cook.

….that’s about it in terms of being traditional. I’m pretty out there in a lot of ways. For example, I don’t want to walk down the aisle to “Wedding March”. Why am I marching in my wedding? Shouldn’t I be gliding or floating or…something more romantic?

Anyway, that song’s just not me and I don’t like it. I like it even less when I did a little research on it. Did you know the “Wedding March”, aka “Bridal Chorus”, was composed by Wagner and is part of the opera Lohengrin?

The particular piece of music we know as “Here Comes the Bride” comes on during the part where the bride, Elsa, is accompanied into her bridal chambers. She marries some guy, Lohengrin, and their marriage is a failure pretty much from the get go.


:: Image from wagneropera.net ::
Yeah….this isn’t exactly the image I pictured for my wedding, you know?

So. Do I really want to hear music sung by a bunch of people at this heroine who marries some guy (who I’m beginning to think she didn’t really like nor wanted to marry. I’m not sure. I have to look more into this Lohengrin opera piece) and who’s marriage is pretty much a fail from the beginning AT MY WEDDING?

No. I don’t.

I’m hoping to hear some hip hop when Clyde takes his place at the head. The song I want to hear in particular is “Let’s Get Married” by Jagged Edge.

That would be so awesome.

What do I want to hear when I’m walking up to meet him? That’s a secret but I’ll give you a hint. It won’t be “Wedding March”. Nooooo way. ^___^

Leave a Reply

