Adventures In Wedding Planning :: Tales Of The Budget Bride

This week, I got to catch up with a girlfriend who I haven’t seen in quite some time. She just got engaged so it was AWESOME getting to catch up with her and have a sister I’m-Getting-Married friend to chat with. When I say “chat with”, what I really meant to say was “go crazy talking about wedding stuff and not feeling weird for hijacking all conversations I engage in by turning it into talk about wedding stuff.”

God, I’ve become “that engaged girl”. I’ve finally fully developed Wedding Fever.

I really try not to only talk about the wedding when people ask me (which, luckily for me, happens to be almost any time I run into people at work or outside of work) because I like to think that I know it’s not always all about me.

I don’t consider myself a wedding expert. I also don’t consider myself a budget wedding expert….but I have learned a few things here and there.

After I had congratulated EngagedGirl, she immediately shared that she had no idea what to do next. Wow! I get to drop some of my knowledge on her! Sweet!!!!


Image from myweddingzone.blogspot.com
How cute!! If these were piggy banks, I’D TOTALLY BUY THEM!!!!
Want! WANT WANT WAAAANNNTTTT!!!!!!

In the next 3+ hours, I told her everything I know about :

  • Wedding planning (hire a good wedding coordinator because she will be your best friend)
  • How to maximize your money when buying The Dress
  • Timelines for doing things
  • The importance of finding a good florist
  • The importance of finding good vendors. Period.
  • Finding a good venue (there are no short cuts to this. It’s a lot of work, mayng)
  • Photographer vs. Videographer
  • How to maximize your budget for your wedding cake
  • How to maximize your budget for wedding invitations
  • How to maximize your budget for food
  • How to set your budget (THE most important part next to saying “YES!!!! YES, I WILL MARRY YOU!!!!” and “Will you be my MOH/bridesmaid/Best Man/groomsmen?”)

I won’t say I have all the answers but I will say that I’ve learned a few things. EngagedGirl is like me in the sense that we do not want to spend the equivalent of a down payment on a house just on our wedding dress. We do not want to spend the equivalent of a modest home somewhere just on one night’s festivities.

I won’t speak for her but I do not see why I can’t have a spectacular wedding with the man I love without breaking the bank OR taking a loan out from the bank (be it Bank Of Mom And Dad, United Lending Of Auntie Awesome and/or Bank of America).

Where there’s a will, there’s a way.

All the topics I outlined here and talked to her about will be posted here at some point. I realize there are a lot of brides out there who are working on a budget, just like me, and I’m more than happy to share what I know. Every girl deserves her special day without a crappy venue manager making her cry or owner of crappy venue making her boiling mad and I intend on helping as many girls as I can with what I know.

My wedding coordinator, Katie Lee, thinks I could go into business as a budget wedding coordinator. Um…I don’t know if I’m calm enough for that and I’d hate to lose my cool at one of my brides, you know? I don’t think I have the patience to do what she does so I’ll just share what I know on here.

I think that’s best for everyone. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

