Adventures In Wedding Planning – Diet Crunch Time

I hate dieting. I suck at it. I only have self control when I have to adhere to strict guidelines for religious purposes (like when my grandpa and grandma passed away). Otherwise, the only guidelines I understand are not eating till I want to throw up.

But, seeing as how this is the only time in my life where I’m going to be wearing a gorgeous wedding dress AND a gorgeous, custom made qipao, I should give some more thought to it.


* sigh *
I remember when my stomach looked like this…when I was 21-24.

The good news is I haven’t gained any weight since the last time I tried my dress on.

The better news is that I’ve lost 10 pounds since February and that my dress zips up a lot more.

The bad news is….well….there isn’t really any because this is pretty good news. However, I’m vain and I want to look friggin’ GOOD!

So here’s what I’m thinking.

  • I don’t want to do any crazy yo-yo dieting
  • I don’t want to restrict myself too much because then I’ll fall off the wagon and eat fried chicken and buffalo wings until I make myself sick
  • I don’t want to know how to count calories because I suck. I also don’t know how to assign calories to food that isn’t labeled
  • I want to avoid labeled food as much as possible. This will make counting calories hard.

In addition to this, I want to exercise so that I don’t have flabby arms and a squishy stomach. I’ve been cleared to do yoga (YAAY!!) and some Pilates (YAAAY!!!) so best believe I will be taking advantage of all that I can do.

I took Nutrition when I was in nursing school and I know that nutrition is 90% of maintaining, gaining or losing weight. That means I need to find a weight plan that will work for me.

Clyde and I don’t have the money for me to get those awesome delivered meals. That’s cool because I’m pretty sure I can figure out what to do.

This is my plan.

October

I’m going to try this. “This” is Tim Ferriss’s “4 Hour Body”.

I don’t think it’s an actual diet and is more like guidelines.


I can do that. …in my imagination, that is.

Here’s what I understand of it (I copied and pasted all this from his blog) :

Rule #1: Avoid “white” carbohydrates

Avoid any carbohydrate that is — or can be — white. The following foods are thus prohibited, except for within 1.5 hours of finishing a resistance-training workout of at least 20 minutes in length: bread, rice, cereal, potatoes, pasta, and fried food with breading. If you avoid eating anything white, you’ll be safe.

Rule #2: Eat the same few meals over and over again

The most successful dieters, regardless of whether their goal is muscle gain or fat loss, eat the same few meals over and over again. Mix and match, constructing each meal with one from each of the three following groups:

Proteins:
Egg whites with one whole egg for flavor
Chicken breast or thigh
Grass-fed organic beef
Pork

Legumes:
Lentils
Black beans
Pinto beans

Vegetables:
Spinach
Asparagus
Peas
Mixed vegetables

Rule #3: Don’t drink calories

Drink massive quantities of water and as much unsweetened iced tea, tea, diet sodas, coffee (without white cream), or other no-calorie/low-calorie beverages as you like. Do not drink milk, normal soft drinks, or fruit juice. I’m a wine fanatic and have at least one glass of wine each evening, which I believe actually aids sports recovery and fat-loss. Recent research into resveratrol supports this.

Rule #4: Take one day off per week

I recommend Saturdays as your “Dieters Gone Wild” day. I am allowed to eat whatever I want on Saturdays, and I go out of my way to eat ice cream, Snickers, Take 5, and all of my other vices in excess. I make myself a little sick and don’t want to look at any of it for the rest of the week. Paradoxically, dramatically spiking caloric intake in this way once per week increases fat loss by ensuring that your metabolic rate (thyroid function, etc.) doesn’t downregulate from extended caloric restriction. That’s right: eating pure crap can help you lose fat. Welcome to Utopia.

My cousin, her husband and my sister are doing this now and they are shedding the weight. They’ve been eating like this for the last 3 weeks or so. Not bad.

This doesn’t sound too bad at all. I don’t really like rice, I’m not a huge noodle person, I don’t inhale bushels of spuds….but give up bread???!!! * sigh *

I like the part where I get to eat whatever the hell I want one day of the week. IT IS SOOO ON!

November

If I don’t shed as much fat/weight as I had thought from doing this for 4 weeks, I’m going to do the South Beach Diet again. I did it once almost 7 years ago and it worked great for me. It’s less restrictive than this 4 Hour Body thing because you can have some dairy in the South Beach Diet but, from what I understand, not on the 4 Hour Body.

That sucks. I can’t have milk?! Wtf?! How am I going to drink coffee??? Sadness.

Hm. Maybe I’ll mix the two diets together!!! Yeah, that sounds good. I’m going to follow most of the 4 Hour Body but incorporate dairy into it. We’ll see how this works out.

I’m going to try and write down everything I eat also.

Wish me luck! Maybe I’ll even be brave enough to post before-and-after measurements. Maybe.

Comments
2 Responses to “Adventures In Wedding Planning – Diet Crunch Time”
  1. moons says:

    Beautiful ladie that will be stunning in the December Desert……my GF did the program and she really liked it and felt full all the time.

    Rooting for your HOTNESS

    • Miss Bonnified says:

      YAHOO!!!!! So she liked the 4 Hour Body or did she like South Beach Diet? I gotta say….I’ve been super sucking it this week….I ate 2.5 GIANT YUM YUM glazed donuts yesterday (but……f*ck…..they were absolutely divinely sinfully delicious…..I went back to grab the 4th one but, luckily for me, my coworkers hoover-ed them up before I could inhale more carb-y damage!) but I plan to start FOR REAL on Monday.

      😀

      Yay!

Leave a Reply

