Adventures In Wedding Planning :: Bridal Bling

Wow, it’s been a while since I last touched this blog. That’s because I’ve been spazzing out, freaking out, stressing out and breaking out. You’d think I’d be immune to the kinds of skin problems most adolescents suffer from at my age. I guess not. * sigh *

One of the things I’ve been giving lots of thought to lately is what jewelry I’m going to be wearing on the Big Day. Clyde’s mom, Umma, gave me this CRAZY, INSANE gorgeous pearl bridal set. I swear, the pearl on the ring is big enough to literally take someone’s eye out.

This made me think about my mom. I wanted something that reminds me of my mom on me when I’m walking down that aisle. I spent the entire morning playing with all the jewelry she’s given me. (This is what I do when I’m sad or when I miss my mom. I go straight for my jewelry box.)


“Zettai Kareshi” is a Japanese drama my mom and I LOVE.
We were completely obsessed. It was hilarious.
As a result, this song always makes me think of my mom.
I love this song.

I thought about wearing the phat strand of pearls she gave me when I was in my early 20’s. As much as I love them, they didn’t feel quite right. Ditto with the phat strand of black pearls she gave me a few years later. I adore black pearls…but that didn’t fit what I was looking for either.

My godmother gave me a beautiful cuff bracelet made of seed pearls from Japan when I was a toddler. I think I’m going to wear that too. My godmother can’t make it from Taiwan but when I show her the pictures, I can show her that she was there with me when I said my vows.

I thought about wearing the entire set Umma gave me…but while they are beautiful and beautifully matched (earrings, ring and pendant), I still wanted something that reminded me of my mom too.

And that’s when I knew what I had to wear.


I am definitely not going to look quite as matched as this chick.
I also won’t be sporting these bright ass, red lips either. πŸ˜€

On the day of my 27th birthday, I was pulling myself out of the most trying time of my life. I went to my friend’s sushi restaurant to treat myself to one of my favorite meals – sake, sushi and oysters.

I ordered a full dozen of oysters. I remember I was talking to Stephen when I suddenly bit down on something hard.

My immediate thought was “Holy shit….I broke my tooth!! Gah!!!” followed by a totally irrational thought of “I have to swallow it! Then nobody will know I broke my tooth on an oyster!”

Don’t ask. To this day, I have no idea why that made sense to me in that moment.

Luckily, my sanity returned and I was able to rationally think things through. I carefully swallowed the oyster and just as carefully spit out what I thought was a smooth fragment of my tooth.

What I saw in my hand was pearly white but definitely not made of something from my body.

It was a pearl. A slightly pink pearl. That’s right, people. I find precious gems in my mouth when I eat sushi. Good thing I didn’t swallow it, huh? Somehow, being able to say “I poop pearls when I eat oysters” doesn’t sound as good as “I find pearls in my mouth when I eat oysters”.

Back then, I thought of it as tear shaped. Perhaps this was because of my emotional state at the time. However, by the time I flew my ass to Hawaii to show my mom, I came to think of this pearl as egg shaped.

I didn’t want to associate this little miracle with sadness. I instead began associating it with new beginnings, unlimited potential, hope and preciousness. After all, isn’t that what eggs are besides being absolutely delicious and tasty?

The value of my little pearl might not even be what my oysters cost but so what? How many people can say they found a naturally occurring pearl the size of mine when they were eating the oyster that made it? Not many. That’s what makes my pearl so precious to me. No one else might see its value but it is priceless to me.

A few weeks later, I flew to Hawaii and showed my mom. She was astounded and took me to her friend’s jewelry shop. My mom and I spent hours perusing all possible settings for my little egg shaped pearl. In the end, I found something I absolutely loved.

  • Oyster shooter with pearl at Crazy Sushi in Alhambra, CA – $1.50
  • Round trip airfare to Honolulu, HI from Los Angeles, CA – $450.00
  • 14K white gold Plumeria flower pendant with 14K white gold chain for pearl – $200
  • Spending time with my mom, making memories with my mom and watching her tell everyone she meets that her daughter is lucky and, like the pearl she found while eating, a gift of nature and one of a kind – priceless

I think this is what I’m going to wear on my wedding day. My jewelry on my wedding day might not be a matched set but I don’t care. It’s my wedding day and I’m going to wear whatever I want however I want. πŸ™‚

Comments
2 Responses to “Adventures In Wedding Planning :: Bridal Bling”
  1. Prettygossip says:

    What a beautiful (and funny) story. That’s it… I’m officially your new stalker.

Leave a Reply

